Upon creating a Channel, you determine if that Channel is Open, Restricted, Private, Shared Repository, or Public. To modify a Channel's privacy:

  • Visit My Channels in MediaSpace
  • Click the Edit link underneath the desired Channel
  • Select the privacy setting for your channel; the options are:
    • Open - A user must be logged in (with their ONID username and password) to view content but only admin-role users and channel members can contribute content
    • Restricted - A user must be logged in (with their ONID username and password) to view content and only channel members can contribute content
    • Private - Only members of a channel can view or contribute content
    • Shared Repository - Only members of a channel can view and contribute content and content may be published to other channels
    • Public - Anyone can view content without logging in but only channel members can contribute content
  • Click Save

Depending on your choice, you are then required to define who is a member of your Channel if you wish them to access the content therein. You do this as follows:

  • Visit My Channels in MediaSpace
  • Click the Edit link underneath the desired Channel
  • Click the Members tab
  • Click Add Member
  • Enter the ONID username of the person you'd like to add as a member
  • Determine the permissions you would live to give to this member. They are:
    • Member: May view content in the Channel
    • Contributor: May view content in Channel and submit new content
    • Moderator: May view content in the Channel, submit new content, and approve submitted content if the Channel is moderated
    • Manager: Same permissions as the creator of the Channel; May view, submit and approve content, as well as Edit permissions, modify details of the Channel, or delete it outright
  • Click Add